The Koya University was established in 2003 and has developed noticeably. In 2010, Koya University was restructured from colleges to faculty systems to enhance the interactions between similar academic fields. Today the University has 4 faculties (see links below) and 25 departments in different fields, as listed in links below.
The educational programmes include both bachelor's and master's degree and doctoral programmes and give the graduates a wide range of knowledge and skills which can lead to many careers, such as design, Engineering, consulting, sales management at various levels, teaching and research.
Faculty of Engineering (FENG)
FENG LogoThe faculty of Engineering (FENG) at Koya University is an excellent place to acquire education. It is the center of excellence for advanced education and research in different fields of engineering. It comprised of seven departments: Department of Civil Engineering, Department of Geotechnical Engineering, Department of Architectural Engineering; Department of Petroleum Engineering, Department of Chemical Engineering, Department of Manufacturing and Industerial Engineering and Department of Software Engineering.
FSCH LogoThe faculty of Science and Health (FSCH) at Koya University is a center of excellence for advanced education and research in the fields of health and the basic or applied sciences such as BiologyChemistryMathematics and Physics. It comprised of three schools: the school of medicine, the school of science which includes five scientific departments and the school of health including the departments of Clinical Psychology, and Medical Microbiology.

Faculty of Humanity and Social Science (FHSS)
FHSS LogoThe Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences (FHSS) where we are committed to exploring and researching the key contemporary social and political issues of our day. Their focus on excellence in teaching, learning and research produces graduates with the skills and knowledge to make a difference in society.


Faculty of Education (FEDU)
FEDU LogoThe Faculty of Education is engaged and dynamic in advancing education as a professional practice and in the field of scholarly  inquiry through excellence in teaching, research and community service that  promotes  freedom, democracy, equality and human dignity. The Faculty of Education is committed to improving the quality and understanding of education and social services provision internationally through high quality teaching, research and professional development.


Faculty of Medicine (FMED)
SMED LogoThe School of Medicine at Koya University train tomorrow’s doctors on a vibrant undergraduate medical course with a unique intercalated BMedSci, alongside running a specialised graduate-entry programme built around clinical problem solving. SMED will have full access to Koya University Hospital with futuristic approach in doctor-patient relationship. 


Faculty of Physical Education (FPHE)
SPHE LogoThe School of Physical Education was established in recognition of the importance of sports in modern society. Its underlying aim is to raise the status and quality of physical education and educators in the interest of enhancing the quality of life for the whole community. It offers a scientifically-based program that has a notable record of improving athletic achievement in Kurdistan region and Iraq. The Department is committed to the improvement of physical performance and disease prevention through offering programs based on internationally recognized research that has practical implications in the field of health and sports. 


Masters by a combination of research and coursework or by pure research in PhD level. (read more)

Knowledge Transfer is our main stream principal way to communicate in and outside our academic community (read more)

With 4 faculties and 25 departments in different fields we aiming to become a centre of excellence. Join us...